“Progress is impossible without change.” -George Bernard Shaw

Change is a tricky thing. It’s mysterious and unknown. You can never know exactly what change will bring. All you can do is accept it and embrace it.

The easy thing to do is hate it and try to live in the past but when has that ever worked for anybody? Exactly, never. If you are going to live a happy and fulfilled life you must embrace change and take control over your life. If you don’t, you’ll just be playing yourself.

If you haven’t read it yet, you should read “Who Moved My Cheese”. It’s a short little story about mice in a maze but the lesson is profound. The main lesson is to keep moving and changing because that is how you find the cheese. The mice couldn’t stay in one place or they would run out of cheese. They had to keep moving in order to survive.

The same rule applies to you. In order to keep growing, you must keep changing and moving toward the future.

I’m about to head off to college (4 hours away) which is a huge change. I could very easily be scared and nervous but I’m not. Don’t get me wrong, I am definitely going to miss my parents but instead of allowing my fear to keep me in my hometown, I have embraced the necessary change in my life. I have HUGE dreams and goals for my life and I know I can’t achieve those here in Statesboro, Georgia. I must leave my comfort zone and go where my “cheese” is.

Change can be scary, sad, frustrating, etc. But you get to choose how you respond. You get to pick the outcome of your life. Make sure your decisions are based on the future and not your emotions of the present.

I’ve had many changes in my life and most were not of my choosing. Many times I was very upset but I always, always ended up being happy with the end result later down the road. Change and your response to change is what determines who you are. We’re all confronted with changes but the true measure of a man is how he chooses to react in the face of those changes.

It’s kinda like Joseph Campbell’s “The Hero’s Journey”. The hero must go through a series of trials and transformations in order to become the best version of their self. In order for you to live the life of your dreams and become the hero of your own story, you must be bold and courageous in the changes of time.

In order to become bold and courageous, stop focusing on your past experiences and how change may have been a burden. You must believe that something different can happen and that change can actually be a good thing. And it is! That brings me back to a point that I always tell people, “Life is happening for us, not to us.” I learned this from my brother and I’ve never forgotten it.

So what I want you to get from this is that change is a good thing. It may be difficult and uncomfortable but it’s always helping you become the person you were meant to become. The person God created you to be. That, to me, is a true hero.

Change is inevitable, my friends, learn to love it.

You are blessed and highly favored!

-Brandon

Leave a Reply

